How does it feel if someone tells you that you are great?

It feels like there is a heavy burden on your shoulders. It’s a horror to think that you have to live up with their expectations. The pressure is too immense that a rookie writer like me could not take.

Yes, that’s how I feel everytime someone out there would tell me that my writing style is great, that I am a great writer and poet.  Honestly, the word “great” is such a heavy word. It’s not far from being excellent. It’s a word that only suits someone who has already proven his or her talent as a writer or as a poet.

I don’t understand why some people have so much faith in me, I don’t understand why they think I am a great on the field that I chose.

In my case and  present capability, I would say that I am still far from being great; that is how I see myself. I still have a long way to go before I could be considered as great writer and poet. My writings aren’t spectacular, it’s so simple and plain; but there is one thing that I am sure of, I always write them with great love, sincerity and honesty. My love for poetry and writing will never end; that as long as I am breathing, I will continue to write. It is my way of expressing myself and thoughts, my way of relaxing, my way of influencing other people, and my own way of living this life.

I don’t want  to be labeled as “great writer”, not because I feel like it’s a burden but because I feel like the term doesn’t suit me yet. There are poets and writers out there who truly deserve the word “great”, but not me, not yet me.

Leave a Reply

